

Migration (IMMI 17/053: Specification of Transit Passengers Having Prescribed Status – Special Purpose Visas) Instrument 2017

I, Peter Dutton, Minister for Immigration and Border Protection make the following instrument.

Dated 23 August 2017

Peter Dutton

THE HON PETER DUTTON MP
Minister for Immigration and Border Protection



Contents		
	Part 1—Preliminary	. 1
	1 Name	. 1
	2 Commencement	. 1
	3 Authority	. 1
	4 Definitions	. 1
	5 Schedules	. 1
	Part 2—Specified class of transit passenger	. 2
	6 Class of persons for paragraph 2.40(1)(n)	. 2
Schedule 1—	Repeals	4
1 0	Sication of Transit Passengers Who are eligible for a Special Purpose Visa 2015 I 15/057) (F2015L00790)	4



Part 1—Preliminary

1 Name

- (1) This instrument is the Migration (IMMI 17/053: Specification of Transit Passengers Having Prescribed Status Special Purpose Visas) Instrument 2017.
- (2) This instrument may be cited as IMMI 17/053

2 Commencement

This instrument commences the day after it is registered on the Federal Register of Legislation.

3 Authority

This instrument is made under paragraph 2.40(1)(n) of Part 2 of the Regulations.

4 Definitions

In this instrument:

Regulations means the Migration Regulations 1994

5 Schedules

Each instrument that is specified in a Schedule to this instrument is amended or repealed as set out in the applicable items in the Schedule concerned, and any other item in a Schedule to this instrument has effect according to its terms.

Part 2—Specified class of transit passenger

6 Class of persons for paragraph 2.40(1)(n)

- (1) For the purposes of paragraph 2.40(I)(n) of Part 2 of the Regulations, transit passengers who belong to the following classes of persons are specified:
 - (a) Citizens of the following foreign countries;

Andorra	Japan	Romania
Argentina	Kiribati	Samoa
Austria	Latvia	San Marino
Belgium	Liechtenstein	Singapore
Brunei	Lithuania	Slovakia
Canada	Luxembourg	Slovenia
Chile	Malaysia	Solomon Islands
Croatia	Malta	South Africa
Cyprus	Marshall Islands	South Korea
Czech Republic	Mexico	Spain
Denmark	Monaco	Sweden
Estonia	Nauru	Switzerland
Federated States of Micronesia	Netherlands	Thailand
Fiji	New Zealand	Tonga
Finland	Norway	Tuvalu
France	Palau	United Arab Emirates
Germany	Oman	United Kingdom (including its colonies)
Greece	Papua New Guinea	United States of America
Hungary	Philippines	Uruguay
Iceland	Poland	Vanuatu
Indonesia	Portugal	Vatican
Ireland	Qatar	
Italy	Republic of Bulgaria	

- (b) Residents of Hong Kong holding Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) passports or British National Overseas (BNO) passports;
- (c) Residents of Taiwan holding a passport issued by the authorities of Taiwan (other than passports purported to be official or diplomatic passports);
- (d) Official passport holders from India;

- (e) Diplomatic passport holders, excluding holders of:
 - (i) Arab Non-National Passports; and
 - (ii) Diplomatic passports from the following foreign countries:

Afghanistan	Jordan	Russian Federation
Algeria	Kuwait	Saudi Arabia
Angola	Lebanon	Sierra Leone
Bahrain	Libya	Somalia
Comoros	Madagascar	Sudan
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	Mauritania	Syria
Egypt	Morocco	Tunisia
Iran	Pakistan	Zimbabwe
Iraq	Republic of Yemen	

Schedule 1—Repeals

Specification of Transit Passengers Who are eligible for a Special Purpose Visa 2015 (IMMI 15/057) (F2015L00790)

1 The whole of the instrument

Repeal the instrument