

## Determination 2012/15: Members of Parliament – Base Salary, Entitlements and Related Matters

- (i) Pursuant to subsections 7(1), 7(1A) and 7(4) of the *Remuneration Tribunal Act* 1973, the Remuneration Tribunal has inquired into the remuneration and allowances to be paid to members of parliament, and matters significantly related thereto, and determines as set out below.
- (ii) This Determination takes effect on and from the day following the day it is registered in the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments unless otherwise specified.

## PART 1 - BASE SALARY AND RELATED MATTERS

- **1.1** In this part, Determination Number 2 of 2012 is referred to as the Principal Determination.
- 1.2 Clause 2.1 of Part 2 of the Principal Determination is amended by replacing "\$185,000" with "\$190,550".
- 1.3 Clause 2.2 of Part 2 of the Principal Determination is amended by replacing "\$38,620" with "\$39,770".
- **1.4** Clauses 1.2 and 1.3 take effect on and from 1 July 2012.

## **PART 2 - ENTITLEMENTS**

- **2.1** In this part, Determination Number 4 of 2012 is referred to as the Principal Determination.
- 2.2 Clause 1.4 of Part 1 of the Principal Determination is amended by replacing the current definition of 'join' with the following definition: "'join' means to travel to meet a senator or member for a period of at least 3 hours".
- 2.3 Clause 2.2 takes effect on and from 15 March 2012.

2.4 Charter Transport Allowance: Clause 7.2(b) of Part 7 of the Principal Determination is amended by replacing the current table with the following table:

Chamber	State or Territory/	Maximum Allowance
	Electorate	Per Annum
Senators	Northern Territory	\$65,760
	Queensland or Western	\$26,490
	Australia	
	New South Wales, Victoria,	
	South Australia or	\$14,860
	Tasmania	
Members	300,000 km <sup>2</sup> or more	\$87,580
	100,000 to 299,999 km <sup>2</sup>	\$38,190
	25,000 to 99,999 km <sup>2</sup>	\$21,160
	10,000 to 24,999 km <sup>2</sup>	\$10,420

**2.5** Clause 2.4 takes effect on and from 1 July 2012.

Signed this 19<sup>th</sup> day of June 2012.

Signed
John C Conde AO
PRESIDENT

Signed John B Prescott AC MEMBER Signed Jillian Segal AM MEMBER