

Commonwealth of Australia

Migration Regulations 1994

TRANSIT PASSENGERS WHO ARE ELIGIBLE FOR A SPECIAL PURPOSE VISA (Paragraph 2.40(1)(n))

I, CHRIS BOWEN, Minister for Immigration and Citizenship, acting under paragraph 2.40(1)(n) of the Migration Regulations 1994 ('the Regulations'):

- 1. REVOKE Instrument number IMMI 09/064, signed on 4 February 2010 specifying transit passengers for the purposes of paragraph 2.40(1)(n) of the Regulations; AND
- 2. SPECIFY each class of persons specified in clauses (a) to (d) of the schedule to this instrument as a class of persons for the purposes of paragraph 2.40(1)(n) of the Regulations.

This Instrument, IMMI 12/072, commences on 8 June 2012.

Dated 7 June 2012

CHRIS BOWEN Minister for Immigration and Citizenship

[NOTE 1: Paragraph 2.40(1)(n) of the Regulations provides that transit passengers who belong to a class of persons specified by Gazette

Notice are prescribed as having a Special Purpose Visa for the purposes of section 33(2)(a) of the Migration Act 1958.

NOTE 2: Subsection 56(1) of the *Legislative Instruments Act 2003* provides that if the enabling legislation in relation to a legislative instrument as in force at any time before the commencing day of that Act (1 January 2005) required the text of the instrument, or particulars of its making, to be published in the *Gazette*, the requirement for publication in the *Gazette* is taken, in relation to any such instrument made on or after that day, to be satisfied if the instrument is registered]

SCHEDULE

(a) Citizens of the following foreign countries:

Andorra	Japan	Republic of Marshall
		Islands
Argentina	Kiribati	Samoa
Austria	Latvia	San Marino
Belgium	Liechtenstein	Singapore
Brunei	Lithuania	Slovakia
Canada	Luxembourg	Slovenia
Cyprus	Malaysia	Solomon Islands
Czech Republic	Malta	South Korea
Denmark	Mexico	Spain
Estonia	Monaco	Sweden
Federated States of	Nauru	Switzerland
Micronesia		
Fiji	Netherlands	Thailand
Finland	New Zealand	Tonga
France	Norway	Tuvalu
Germany	Palau	United Arab Emirates
Greece	Oman	United Kingdom
Hungary	Papua New Guinea	(including its colonies)
Iceland	Philippines	United States of
		America
Indonesia	Poland	Vanuatu
Ireland	Portugal	Vatican
Italy	Republic of South Africa	

- (b) Residents of Hong Kong holding Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) passports or British National Overseas (BNO) passports.
- (c) Residents of Taiwan holding a passport issued by the authorities of Taiwan (other than passports purported to be official or diplomatic passports).
- (d) Diplomatic passport holders, excluding holders of:
 Arab Non-National Passports; and
 Diplomatic passports from the following foreign countries:

Afghanistan	Jordan	Russian Federation
Algeria	Kuwait	Saudi Arabia
Angola	Lebanon	Sierra Leone
Bahrain	Libya	Somalia
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Madagascar	Sudan
Comoros	Mauritania	Syria
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	Morocco	Tunisia
Egypt	Pakistan	Zimbabwe
Iran	Qatar	
Iraq	Republic of Yemen	