Recognition of Representative Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander Body 2000 (No. 4)

I, John Joseph Herron, Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs, acting under subsection 203AD(1) of the *Native Title Act 1993*, recognise the <u>Torres Strait Regional</u> <u>Authority</u> as the representative Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander body for the area described in Schedule 1.

I am satisfied that the Torres Strait Regional Authority:

- (a) will satisfactorily represent persons who hold or may hold native title in the area described in Schedule 1; and
- (b) will be able to consult effectively with Aboriginal peoples and Torres Strait Islanders living in that area; and
- (c) satisfactorily performs its existing representative body functions; and
- (d) would be able to perform satisfactorily the functions of a representative body.

This recognition takes effect on 1 July 2000.

Dated 2 February 2000

JOHN HERRON

Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs

Schedule 1 Description of area (Torres Strait)

 The area is the area of land and waters bounded by a line commencing at the point latitude 11 degrees south and longitude 144 degrees 15 minutes east, and then proceeding west along that latitude to its intersection with the coastline of mainland Australia, then generally north-westerly and south-westerly along the coastline of mainland Australia to its intersection with latitude 11 degrees south on the western side of Cape York, then west along that latitude to the point latitude 11 degrees south longitude 141 degrees east, then north along that meridian to the intersection with the outer limit of the Exclusive Economic Zone of Australia (EEZ), then generally north-easterly and easterly along that outer limit to its intersection with longitude 144 degrees 15 minutes east, and then south along that meridian to the point of where the line began.

This area is to exclude Barn Island and Crab Island, and to include the towns of Seisia and Bamaga.

2. In this Schedule:

exclusive economic zone means the exclusive economic zone within the meaning of the *Seas and Submerged Lands Act 1973*.

TORRES STRAIT

i.

