## Recognition of Representative Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander Body 2001 (No.3)

I, Philip Ruddock, Minister for Reconciliation and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs, acting under subsection 203AD(1) of the *Native Title Act 1993*, recognise the North Queensland Land Council Aboriginal Corporation as the representative Aboriginal/Torres Strait Islander body for the area described in Schedule 1.

I am satisfied that the North Queensland Land Council Aboriginal Corporation:

- (a) will satisfactorily represent persons who hold or may hold native title in the area described in Schedule 1; and
- (b) will be able to consult effectively with Aboriginal peoples and Torres Strait Islanders living in that area; and
- (c) would be able to perform satisfactorily the functions of a representative body.

This recognition takes effect on the date that it is notified in the Commonwealth of Australia *Gazette*.

Dated 12 July 2001

PHILIP RUDDOCK

Minister for Reconciliation and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs

## Schedule 1 Description of area (Cairns)

1. The area is the area of land and water bounded by a line commencing at the intersection of the southern boundary of the 1991 Local Government Area (LGA) of Johnstone and the coastline of mainland Australia, and then proceeding generally north westerly along the southern boundary of that LGA to its intersection with the eastern boundary of Herberton LGA, then generally southerly and westerly along the eastern and southern boundaries of that LGA to its intersection with the eastern boundary of Etheridge LGA, then generally southerly and westerly along the eastern and southern boundaries of that LGA to its intersection with the eastern boundary of Croydon LGA, then generally westerly, north-westerly, northerly and easterly along the eastern, southern, western and northern boundaries of that LGA to its intersection with the western boundary of Mareeba LGA, then generally northerly and easterly along the western and northern boundaries of that LGA to its intersection with western boundary of Douglas LGA, then generally northerly and easterly along the western and northern boundaries of that LGA to its intersection with the McDowall Mountain Range, then generally southerly along that Range to the source of Adastra Creek, then generally southerly along the centre thread of that Creek to its intersection with the centre thread of the Daintree River, then generally south-easterly along the centre thread of that River to its intersection with the coastline of mainland Australia, then due south-east in a straight line to an intersection with the latitude of the southernmost point of the Mean High Water Mark of Snapper Island, then due east along that latitude to the intersection with the Exclusive Economic Zone of Australia (EEZ), then generally south westerly along the eastern boundary of that EEZ to a point due east of the point of commencement, and then due west in a straight line to the point where the line began. The area also includes all islands immediately adjacent to that portion of the Australian coastline referred to in the body of this description.

## 2. In this Schedule:

**exclusive economic zone** means the exclusive economic zone within the meaning of the Seas and Submerged Land Act 1973.