

STATUTORY RULES

1965 No. 168

REGULATION UNDER THE BANKING ACT 1959.*

THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL in and over the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, hereby make the following Regulation under the *Banking Act* 1959.

Dated this eighteenth day of November, 1965.

CASEY
Governor-General.

By His Excellency's Command,

HAROLD HOLT Treasurer.

AMENDMENT OF THE BANKING (FOREIGN EXCHANGE) REGULATIONS†

Regulation 4 of the Banking (Foreign Exchange) Regulations amended by omitting the definition of "sterling area" and inserting in stead the following definition:—

" 'sterling area 'means-

- (a) Australia, Burma, Ceylon, the Republic of Cyprus, Gambia, Ghana, Iceland, India, the Republic of Ireland, Jamaica, The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Libya, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, New Zealand, The Federal Republic of Nigeria, Pakistan, Sierra Leone, Singapore, the Republic of South Africa, the United Republic of Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, the United Kingdom, Western Samoa and the Republic of Zambia;
- (b) a colony, overseas territory or protectorate of a country specified in the last preceding paragraph; and
- (c) a territory for the international relations of which a country so specified is responsible,

but does not include Southern Rhodesia;".

By Authority: A. J. Arttiur, Commonwealth Government Printer, Camberra 14582/65.—Price 6p. (5c)

^{*} Notified in the Commonwealth Gazette on 18 November, 1965.
† Statutory Rules 1946, No. 191, as amended by Statutory Rules 1947, Nos. 65 and 102; 1948, Nos. 39 and 165; 1950, No. 46; 1952, Nos. 15 and 80; 1953, No. 24; 1954, No. 96; and 1960, No. 8.