#### TRIPLICATE COPY

(Statutory Admin:5/6 docastica. received if



a copy in tell Secgislation.

Еж. Со. оветеганат. риваза соптрые инв серу by insertion of signatures and date of making, and send to: Legislative Services Section.

Commercial & Drafting Division, Attorney-General's



Statutory Rules 1989 No. /

# A.C.T. Self-Government (Consequential Provisions) Regulations<sup>2</sup> (Amendment)

I. THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, hereby make the following Regulation under the A.C.T. Self-Government (Consequential Provisions) Act 1988.

Dated

1989.

27 December |

( BILL HAYDEN |

Governor-General

By His Excellency's Command,

CLYDE HOLDING

Minister of State for the Arts, Tourism and Territories

#### Commencement

1. These Regulations are to be taken to have commenced on 11 May 1989.

#### Schedule 1

2. Schedule 1 to the A.C.T. Self-Government (Consequential Provisions) Regulations is amended by inserting in their appropriate alphabetical positions (determined on a letter-by-letter basis according to the citation of the legislation to be modified) the following:

# Disability Services Act 1986

#### Section 7

Omit the definition of "State", substitute the following definition:

"'State' includes the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory;".

#### Subsection 23 (10)

Insert "of the Australian Capital Territory," after "States,".

(S.R. 347/89)—Cat. No.

14/16.11.1989

# Subsection 27 (5)

Insert "of the Australian Capital Territory," after "States.".

#### National Occupational Health and Safety Commission Act 1985

#### Section 3

Omit the definitions of "Minister", "Parliament", "Premier", "State" and "Territory", substitute the following definitions:

# " 'Minister' means:

- (a) in relation to the Australian Capital Territory—a person holding office as Chief Minister or Minister under the Australian Capital Territory (Self-Government) Act 1988;
- (b) in relation to the Northern Territory—a person holding Ministerial Office under section 36 of the Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act 1978;

#### 'Parliament' means:

- (a) in relation to the Australian Capital Territory—the Legislative Assembly of the Australian Capital Territory; or
- (b) in relation to the Northern Territory—the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory;

## 'Premier' means:

- (a) in relation to the Australian Capital Territory—the Chief Minister of the Australian Capital Territory; or
- (b) in relation to the Northern Territory—the Chief Minister of the Northern Territory;
- 'State' includes the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory;
- 'Territory' does not include the Australian Capital Territory or the Northern Territory;".

#### Subsection 8 (10)

Omit the subsection, substitute:

"(10) In paragraphs (2) (a) and (8) (g) 'Territory' includes the Australian Capital Territory and in paragraph 8 (c) 'Territories' includes the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.".

# NOTES

1989. 21 December 1. Notified in the Commonwealth of Australia Gazette on

2. Statutory Rules 1989 No. 3 as amended by 1989 Nos. 52, 88, 188, 209, 210 and 234 1/298, 249, 304, 391, 392 and

Printed by Authority by the Commonwealth Government Printer