Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

High Court (2018 Sittings) Rules 2017

Authoritative Version
Rules/Court & Tribunal Rules as made
These Rules of Court appoints the High Court's days of sittings for 2018.
Administered by: Attorney-General's
Exempt from sunsetting by the Legislation Act 2003 s 8(8)(d)
Registered 11 Sep 2017
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR11-Sep-2017
Tabled Senate12-Sep-2017
Date of repeal 01 Jan 2019
Repealed by Self Repealing









Each year, the Justices of the High Court of Australia make a Rule of Court appointing the places and days of the sittings of each Full Court for the following year.  These Rules of Court are made by the Justices under the
rule-making power given by s 86 of the Judiciary Act 1903.


This Rule of Court appoints the sittings of the Full Court of the High Court for 2018.  Sittings of the Court will continue to be held in Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart and Perth as required.  Additional sittings of the Full Court may also be held on other days as required, for example in matters requiring expedition.  These sittings are appointed by the Chief Justice pursuant to Rule 6.04.2 of the High Court Rules 2004.


As in previous years, no consultation was necessary in relation to the appointment of the High Court sitting dates for 2018.  The Rule does not substantially alter long-standing arrangements.