Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

2015/23 Determinations/Remuneration Tribunal as made
This determination amends the Remuneration Tribunal Determination 2012/04 - Members of Parliament - Entitlements to provide an additional car transport option – the use of regulated ridesharing services – when travelling in Australia for family reunion purposes.
Administered by: Prime Minister and Cabinet
Exempt from sunsetting by the Legislative Instruments Act 2003 s 54(2) item 39
Registered 14 Dec 2015
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR02-Feb-2016
Tabled Senate02-Feb-2016
Date of repeal 15 Dec 2015
Repealed by Division 1 of Part 5A of the Legislative Instruments Act 2003

 Commonwealth Government Crest


Determination 2015/23:

Members of Parliament – Entitlements


(i)           Pursuant to subsections 7(1), 7(2) and 7(4) of the Remuneration Tribunal Act 1973 (the Act), the Remuneration Tribunal has inquired into the remuneration and allowances to be paid to members of parliament, and matters significantly related thereto, and determines as set out below.

(ii)          Section 7(8AA) of the Act applies to this Determination, so that neither the disallowance provisions in section 7(8) of the Act nor in section 42 of the Legislative Instruments Act 2003 apply to it.

(iii)         This Determination takes effect on and from Thursday 10 December 2015.


1.1         In this part, Determination Number 4 of 2012 (as amended) is referred to as the Principal Determination.

1.2         Part 4 of the Principal Determination is amended by replacing Clause 4.16 with the following:

Dependent Children and Designated Persons

4.16    Dependent children and designated persons may use taxis, hire cars or regulated ridesharing services to and from any station or terminal for the purposes of travel at Commonwealth expense under clauses 3.15 and 3.16 provided that if the dependent child or designated person is under the age of 16 they must be accompanied by a person over the age of 18.

Signed this 9th day of December 2015




John C Conde AO


John B Prescott AC


Ewen G W Crouch AM