Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

No. 1 of 2014 Notices & Notifications as made
This notice designates the frequency ranges between 1770-1775 MHz and 1865-1870 in Adelaide, 1710-1712.5 MHz and 1805 and 1807.5 MHz in Cairns/Townsville as part of the spectrum to be allocated by the Australian Communications and Media Authority issuing spectrum licences.
Administered by: Communications and the Arts
Exempt from sunsetting by the Legislation (Exemptions and Other Matters) Regulation 2015 s12 item 55
Made 29 Jan 2014
Registered 03 Feb 2014
Tabled HR 11 Feb 2014
Tabled Senate 11 Feb 2014

Commonwealth of Australia


Radiocommunications Act 1992


Radiocommunications (Spectrum Designation) Notice No. 1 of 2014


I, MALCOM BLIGH TURNBULL, Minister for Communications, having consulted with the Australian Communications and Media Authority, make the following Notice under subsection 36(1) of the Radiocommunications Act 1992.

Dated 29 January 2014



Minister for Communications


1               Name of Notice

This Notice is the Radiocommunications (Spectrum Designation) Notice No. 1 of 2014.

2               Commencement

This Notice commences on the day after it is registered on the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments.

3               Definitions

In this Notice:

Australian Spectrum Map Grid (ASMG) means the Australian Spectrum Map Grid 2012 published by the ACMA, as existing from time to time.

identified geographic areas of Australia means the relevant locations specified in the Schedule.

relevant frequency ranges means the following frequency ranges, within the identified geographic areas of Australia:

(a)    1770 – 1775 MHz and 1865 – 1870 MHz in Adelaide;

(b)   1710 – 1712.5 MHz and 1805 – 1807.5 MHz in regional South Australia; and

(c)    1710 – 1712.5 MHz and 1805 – 1807.5 MHz in Cairns/Townsville.

The range of numbers that identifies a frequency band includes the higher but not the lower number.

4               Designation

The relevant frequency ranges are designated as part of the spectrum to be allocated by issuing spectrum licences.



The following table sets out the identified geographic areas of Australia as referenced by the Hierarchical Cell Identification Scheme (HCIS) identifiers used in the ASMG.


Geographic areas

HCIS Identifiers


IW3J, IW3K, IW3L, IW3N, IW3O, IW3P, IW6B, IW6C, IW6D, IW6F, IW6G, IW6H, IW3E5, IW3E6, IW3E8, IW3E9, IW3F4, IW3F5, IW3F6, IW3F7, IW3F8, IW3F9, IW3G4, IW3G5, IW3G6, IW3G7, IW3G8, IW3G9, IW3H4, IW3H5, IW3H6, IW3H7, IW3H8, IW3H9, IW3I2, IW3I3, IW3I5, IW3I6, IW3I8, IW3I9, IW3M2, IW3M3, IW3M5, IW3M6, IW3M8, IW3M9, IW6A2, IW6A3, IW6A5, IW6A6, IW6A8, IW6A9, IW6E2, IW6E3, IW6E5, IW6E6, IW6E8, IW6E9, JW1E4, JW1E7, JW1I1, JW1I4, JW1I7, JW1M1, JW1M4.

Regional South Australia

V1, GV2, GV3, GV6, HV1, HV2, HV4, HV5, HV6, HV8, HV9, HW3, HW6, IV4, IV5, IV6, IV7, IV8, IV9, IW1, IW2, IW4, IW5, IW7, IW8, IW9, JV4, JV5, JV7, JV8, JW2, JW4, JW5, JW7, JW8, JX1, JX2, JX5, IW3A, IW3B, IW3C, IW3D, IW6I, IW6J, IW6K, IW6L, IW6M, IW6N, IW6O, IW6P, JW1A, JW1B, JW1C, JW1D, JW1F, JW1G, JW1H, JW1J, JW1K, JW1L, JW1N, JW1O, JW1P, IW3E1, IW3E2, IW3E3, IW3E4, IW3E7, IW3F1, IW3F2, IW3F3, IW3G1, IW3G2, IW3G3, IW3H1, IW3H2, IW3H3, IW3I1, IW3I4, IW3I7, IW3M1, IW3M4, IW3M7, IW6A1, IW6A4, IW6A7, IW6E1, IW6E4, IW6E7, JW1E1, JW1E2, JW1E3, JW1E5, JW1E6, JW1E8, JW1E9, JW1I2, JW1I3, JW1I5, JW1I6, JW1I8, JW1I9, JW1M2, JW1M3, JW1M5, JW1M6, JW1M7, JW1M8, JW1M9.


LQ1, LQ2, LQ4, LQ5, LQ7, LQ8, LR2, LR3, LR5, LR6.