Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Criminal Code Amendment Regulation 2012 (No. 8)

Authoritative Version
  • - F2012L01694
  • No longer in force
SLI 2012 No. 192 Regulations as made
This regulation amends the Criminal Code Regulations 2002 to specify Lashkar-e-Tayyiba as a terrorist organisation for the purposes of paragraph (b) of the definition of 'terrorist organisation' under subsection 102.1 of the Criminal Code Act 1995.
Administered by: Attorney-General's
Registered 17 Aug 2012
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR20-Aug-2012
Tabled Senate20-Aug-2012
Date of repeal 09 Apr 2013
Repealed by Attorney-General's (Spent and Redundant Instruments) Repeal Regulation 2013

Commonwealth Coat of Arms

Criminal Code Amendment Regulation 2012 (No. 8)1

Select Legislative Instrument 2012 No. 192

I, QUENTIN BRYCE, Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, make the following regulation under the Criminal Code Act 1995.

Dated 16 August 2012



By Her Excellency’s Command


1              Name of regulation

                This regulation is the Criminal Code Amendment Regulation 2012 (No. 8).

2              Commencement

                This regulation commences on the day after it is registered.

3              Amendment of Criminal Code Regulations 2002

                Schedule 1 amends the Criminal Code Regulations 2002.

Schedule 1        Amendment

(section 3)


[1]           Regulation 4V


4V           Terrorist organisations—Lashkar-e-Tayyiba

         (1)   For paragraph (b) of the definition of terrorist organisation in subsection 102.1 (1) of the Code, the organisation known as Lashkar-e-Tayyiba is specified.

         (2)   For subregulation (1), Lashkar-e-Tayyiba is also known by the following names:

                (a)    al Mansooreen;

               (b)    al Mansoorian;

                (c)    Army of Medina;

               (d)    Army of the Pure;

                (e)    Army of the Pure and Righteous;

                (f)    Army of the Righteous;

               (g)    Falah-e-Insaniyat Foundation;

               (h)    Idara Khidmat-e-Khalq;

                (i)    Jama’at al-Dawa;

                (j)    Jama’at-i-Dawat;

               (k)    Jamaati-ud-Dawa;

                (l)    Jamaat ud-Daawa;

              (m)    Jama’at-ud-Da’awa;

               (n)    Jama’at-ud-Da’awah;

               (o)    Jamaat-ud-Dawa;

               (p)    Jama’at ul-Da’awa;

               (q)    Jamaat-ul-Dawa;

                (r)    Jamaat ul-Dawah;

                (s)    Jamaiat-ud-Dawa;

                (t)    JuD;

               (u)    JUD;

               (v)    Lashkar-e-Taiba;

              (w)    Lashkar-e-Tayyaba;

               (x)    Lashkar-e-Toiba;

               (y)    Lashkar-i-Tayyaba;

                (z)    Lashkar-i-Toiba;

              (za)    Lashkar-Tayyiba;

              (zb)    LeT;

              (zc)    LT;

             (zd)    Paasban-e-Ahle-Hadis;

              (ze)    Paasban-e-Kashmir;

              (zf)    Paasban-i-Ahle-Hadith;

              (zg)    Party of the Calling;

              (zh)    Party of Preachers;

               (zi)    Pasban-e-Ahle-Hadith;

               (zj)    Pasban-e-Kashmir;

              (zk)    Soldiers of the Pure;

               (zl)    Tehreek-e-Tahafuz Qibla Awal.


1.       All legislative instruments and compilations are registered on the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments kept under the Legislative Instruments Act 2003. See www.comlaw.gov.au.