Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Proclamations/Other as made
This Proclamation amends the Antarctic Treaty (Environment Protection – Historic Sites and Monuments) Proclamation 2007 to vary the details of one Historic Site and Monument and to declare two new Historic Sites and Monuments.
Administered by: Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities
Exempt from sunsetting by the Legislative Instruments Act 2003 s 54(2) item 43
Registered 14 Dec 2011
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR07-Feb-2012
Tabled Senate07-Feb-2012
Date of repeal 19 Mar 2014
Repealed by Environment (Spent and Redundant Instruments) Repeal Regulation 2014

Commonwealth Coat of Arms

Antarctic Treaty (Environment Protection — Historic Sites and Monuments) Amendment Proclamation 2011 (No. 1)1

I, QUENTIN BRYCE, Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, make this Proclamation under section 8A of the Antarctic Treaty (Environment Protection) Act 1980.

Signed and sealed with the
Great Seal of Australia
on 7 December 2011


By Her Excellency’s Command


1              Name of Proclamation

                This Proclamation is the Antarctic Treaty (Environment Protection — Historic Sites and Monuments) Amendment Proclamation 2011 (No. 1).

2              Commencement

                This Proclamation commences on the day after it is registered.

3              Amendment of Antarctic Treaty (Environment Protection — Historic Sites and Monuments) Proclamation 2007

                Schedule 1 amends the Antarctic Treaty (Environment Protection — Historic Sites and Monuments) Proclamation 2007.

Schedule 1        Amendments

(section 3)


[1]           Schedule 1, item 82



Antarctic Treaty Monument
Monument to the Antarctic Treaty and plaque. The monument is located near the Frei, Bellingshausen and Escudero bases, Fildes Peninsula, King George Island (25 de Mayo Island). The plaque at the foot of the monument commemorates the signatories of the Antarctic Treaty. The monument has 4 plaques in the official languages of the Antarctic Treaty (Spanish, English, Russian and French). The plaques were installed in February 2011 and read as follows:

This historic monument, dedicated to the memory of the signatories of the Antarctic Treaty, Washington D.C., 1959, is also a reminder of the legacy of the First and Second International Polar Years (1882-1883 and 1931-1932) and of the International Geophysical Year (1957-1958) that preceded the Antarctic Treaty, and recalls the heritage of international cooperation that led to the International Polar Year 2007‑2008.

The monument was designed and built by the American Joseph W. Pearson, who offered it to Chile. It was unveiled in 1999 on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the signing of the Antarctic Treaty.

62° 12¢ 01² S, 58° 57¢ 41² W

[2]           Schedule 1, after item 84



Plaque Commemorating the PM-3A Nuclear Power Plant at McMurdo Station
The plaque is approximately 18 x 24 inches and cast in bronze. The text describes the major achievements of the PM‑3A nuclear power plant, Antarctica’s first nuclear power plant. The plaque is secured to a large vertical rock located near the PM-3A reactor site, approximately half way up the west side of Observation Hill at McMurdo Station.

77° 51¢ S, 166° 41¢ E


No. 1 Building at Great Wall Station
The building is located in the centre area of Chinese Antarctic Great Wall Station which is located at Fildes Peninsula, King George Island, South Shetlands, West Antarctica. The building is an overhead assembled housing with exposed steel structure. The building is 23 m long, 8 m wide and 4.7 m high, with a total floor space of 175 m2. The building was the first permanent building constructed by China in Antarctica. The building laid the foundation for China’s continuous scientific study in the King George Island area and symbolised the beginning of understanding and exploring the Antarctic by Chinese people.

62° 13¢ 4² S, 58° 57¢ 44² W



1.       All legislative instruments and compilations are registered on the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments kept under the Legislative Instruments Act 2003. See http://www.frli.gov.au.