Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2009 (No. 16)

Authoritative Version
  • - F2009L03399
  • No longer in force
SLI 2009 No. 215 Regulations as made
These Regulations amend the Criminal Code Regulations 2002 to specify Kurdistan Workers Party as a terrorist organisation for the purpose of paragraph (b) of the definition of a terrorist organisation in sub-section 102.1(1) of the Criminal Code Act 1995.
Administered by: Attorney-General's
Registered 07 Sep 2009
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR09-Sep-2009
Tabled Senate09-Sep-2009
Date of repeal 09 Apr 2013
Repealed by Attorney-General's (Spent and Redundant Instruments) Repeal Regulation 2013

Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2009 (No. 16)1

Select Legislative Instrument 2009 No. 215

I, QUENTIN BRYCE, Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, make the following Regulations under the Criminal Code Act 1995.

Dated 7 September 2009



By Her Excellency’s Command


1              Name of Regulations

                These Regulations are the Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2009 (No. 16).

2              Commencement

                These Regulations commence on the day after they are registered.

3              Amendment of Criminal Code Regulations 2002

                Schedule 1 amends the Criminal Code Regulations 2002.

Schedule 1        Amendment

(regulation 3)


[1]           Regulation 4W


4W          Terrorist organisations — Kurdistan Workers Party

         (1)   For paragraph (b) of the definition of terrorist organisation in subsection 102.1 (1) of the Code, the organisation known as Kurdistan Workers Party is specified.

         (2)   For subregulation (1), Kurdistan Workers Party is also known by the following names:

                (a)    Freedom and Democratic Congress of Kurdistan;

               (b)    HPG;

                (c)    KADEK;

               (d)    KG;

                (e)    KHK;

                (f)    Kongra Gel;

                (g)    Kongra Gele Kurdistan;

                (h)    Kurdish Freedom Falcons;

                 (i)    Kurdish Liberation Hawks;

                (j)    Kurdistan Freedom and Democracy Congress;

               (k)    Kurdistan Freedom Brigade;

                 (l)    Kurdistan Freedom Hawks;

               (m)    Kurdistan Halk Kongresi;

                (n)    Kurdistan Labor Party;

               (o)    Kurdistan Ozgurluk Sahinleri;

               (p)    Kurdistan Peoples Congress;

               (q)    New PKK;

                (r)    Partiya Karkeren Kurdistan;

                (s)    Peoples Congress of Kurdistan;

                (t)    People’s Defence Force;

                (u)    PKK;

                (v)    TAK;

               (w)    Teyrbazên Azadiya Kurdistan.


1.       All legislative instruments and compilations are registered on the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments kept under the Legislative Instruments Act 2003. See http://www.frli.gov.au.