Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2009 (No. 15)

Authoritative Version
  • - F2009L03398
  • No longer in force
SLI 2009 No. 214 Regulations as made
These Regulations amend the Criminal Code Regulations 2002 to specify Lashkar-e-Tayyiba as a terrorist organisation for the purpose of paragraph (b) of the definition of a terrorist organisation in sub-section 102.1(1) of the Criminal Code Act 1995.
Administered by: Attorney-General's
Registered 07 Sep 2009
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR09-Sep-2009
Tabled Senate09-Sep-2009
Date of repeal 09 Apr 2013
Repealed by Attorney-General's (Spent and Redundant Instruments) Repeal Regulation 2013

Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2009 (No. 15)1

Select Legislative Instrument 2009 No. 214

I, QUENTIN BRYCE, Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, make the following Regulations under the Criminal Code Act 1995.

Dated 7 September 2009



By Her Excellency’s Command


1              Name of Regulations

                These Regulations are the Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2009 (No. 15).

2              Commencement

                These Regulations commence on the day after they are registered.

3              Amendment of Criminal Code Regulations 2002

                Schedule 1 amends the Criminal Code Regulations 2002.

Schedule 1        Amendment

(regulation 3)


[1]           Regulation 4V


4V           Terrorist organisations — Lashkar-e-Tayyiba

         (1)   For paragraph (b) of the definition of terrorist organisation in subsection 102.1 (1) of the Code, the organisation known as Lashkar-e-Tayyiba is specified.

         (2)   For subregulation (1), Lashkar-e-Tayyiba is also known by the following names:

                (a)    al Mansooreen;

               (b)    al Mansoorian;

                (c)    Army of Medina;

               (d)    Army of the Pure;

                (e)    Army of the Pure and Righteous;

                (f)    Army of the Righteous;

                (g)    Idara Khidmat-e-Khalq;

                (h)    Jama’at al-Dawa;

                 (i)    Jama’at-i-Dawat;

                (j)    Jamaati-ud-Dawa;

               (k)    Jamaat ud-Daawa;

                 (l)    Jama’at-ud-Da’awa;

               (m)    Jama’at-ud-Da’awah;

                (n)    Jamaat-ud-Dawa;

               (o)    Jama’at ul-Da’awa;

               (p)    Jamaat-ul-Dawa;

               (q)    Jamaat ul-Dawah;

                (r)    Jamaiat-ud-Dawa;

                (s)    JuD;

                (t)    JUD;

                (u)    Lashkar-e-Taiba;

                (v)    Lashkar-e-Tayyaba;

               (w)    Lashkar-e-Toiba;

                (x)    Lashkar-i-Tayyaba;

                (y)    Lashkar-i-Toiba;

                (z)    Lashkar-Tayyiba;

              (za)    LeT;

              (zb)    LT;

              (zc)    Paasban-e-Ahle-Hadis;

              (zd)    Paasban-e-Kashmir;

              (ze)    Paasban-i-Ahle-Hadith;

               (zf)    Party of the Calling;

              (zg)    Party of the Preachers;

              (zh)    Pasban-e-Ahle-Hadith;

               (zi)    Pasban-e-Kashmir;

               (zj)    Soldiers of the Pure;

              (zk)    Tehreek-e-Tahafuz Qibla Awal.



1.       All legislative instruments and compilations are registered on the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments kept under the Legislative Instruments Act 2003. See http://www.frli.gov.au.