Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Excise By-Law No. 156

Authoritative Version
2009/EXC/0034 By-laws as made
This By-Law provides one of the mechanisms required to give effect to the Government’s Budget announcement on condensate.
Administered by: Treasury
Registered 27 Nov 2008
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR01-Dec-2008
Tabled Senate01-Dec-2008
Date of repeal 27 Mar 2019
Repealed by Excise By-Law - Prescribed Condensate Production Area


Excise Act 1901


Excise By-Law No. 156


I, Timothy Dyce, delegate of the Commissioner of Taxation for the purposes of section 165 of the Excise Act 1901, hereby make the by-law set out below.



1.             This by-law may be cited as Excise By-Law No.156.

Legislative instrument

2.             This by-law is a legislative instrument for the purposes of the Legislative Instruments Act 2003.


3.             This by-law takes effect on and from midnight (by legal time in the Australian Capital Territory) on 13 May 2008.

Note: Subparagraph 168(b)(i) of the Excise Act provides that a By-Law will take effect, or be deemed to have taken affect from a date specified by the By-Law.

By-Law does not revoke any other By-Law

4.             This by-law does not revoke any other Excise By-Law.


5.      For the purposes of the definition of ‘prescribed condensate production area ‘ in subsection 6CA(1) of the Excise Tariff Act 1921, the condensate production areas specified in paragraphs A, B, C and D below are prescribed.


A. Western Australia


Carnarvon Basin

Each of the production areas known as Angel, Barrow Island, Campbell, Chervil,

Cossack, Cowle, Crest, Harriet/Lenita, Lambert/Hermes, Legendre/Legendre South, North Herald, Roller/Skate, Rankin Trend, Rosette, Rough Range, Saladin/Yammaderry, Sinbad, South Pepper, Tanami and Wanaea.


Canning Basin

Each of the production areas known as Blina, Sundown and West Terrace.






Perth Basin

Each of the production areas known as Dongara, Yardarino, Mondara, and Mount Horner.



B. Queensland


Bowen/Surat Basin

Each of the production areas known as Alton, Anabranch, Beaufort, Bennett, Boggo Creek, Bony Creek, Boxleigh, Cabawin, Caneon, Conloi, Duarran, Eluanbrook, Euthulla, Fairymount, Grafton Range, Hope Creek, Kincora, Lamen, Louise, Lyndon caves, Maffra, Mascotte, Mayfield, McWhirter, Merivale, Mooga, Moonie, Myrtleville, Narrows, Oberina, Pickanjinnie, Pine Ridge, Pleasant Hills, Pringle Downs, Raslie,  Richmond, Riverslea, Rolleston, Roma, Samari Plains, Silver Springs, Snake Creek, Snake Creek East, Sunnybank, Tarrawonga,

Thomby Creek, Trinidad, Waratah, Warroon, Washpool, Yellowbank, Yellowbank Creek, Timbury hills, Wallumbilla South, Warooby, Westlands, Wingnut, and Yanalah.


Cooper/Eromanga Basin

Each of the production areas known as Challum, Cook, Graham, Kercamurra,

Kihee, Maxwell, Tennaperra, Thungo, Toby, Yanda, Black Stump, Bodalla South,

Bogala, Chookoo, Cooroo, Glenvale, Ipundu, Jackson, Jackson South, Kenmore, Koora, Kooroopa, Mooliampah, Naccowlah South, Naccowlah West, Nockatunga,

Sigma, Takyah, Talgeberry, Tickalara, Tinpilla, Tintaburra, Watson, Watson South and Wilson.



C.  South Australia


Cooper/Eromanga Basin

Each of the production areas known as Alwyn, Big Lake, Bookabourdie, Brolga, Brumby,

Burke, Cuttapirrie, Daralingie, Della, Dirkala, Dullingari, Dullingari North, Fly Lake, Gidgealpa, Jena, Kerinna, Kidman, Limestone Creek/Biala, Marabooka, Meranji, Merimelia, Moomba, Moorari, Mudrangie, Mundarie, Muteroo, Narcoonowie, Namur, Nungeroo, Spencer North, Spencer South, Spencer West, Strzelecki, Tirrawarra, Toolachee, Yapeni, Ulandi, Wancoocha and Woolkina.


D. Northern Territory


Amadeus Basin

Each of the production areas known as East Mereenie, Mereenie, and Palm Valley.



Dated this  Twenty Sixth day of November 2008


Timothy Dyce

Deputy Commissioner and Delegate of the Commissioner of Taxation