Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Proclamations/Other as made
This Proclamation relates to the description of the Australian Aboriginal Flag.
Administered by: Prime Minister and Cabinet
Exempt from sunsetting by the Legislation (Exemptions and Other Matters) Regulation 2015 s12 item 30
Registered 25 Jan 2008
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR12-Feb-2008
Tabled Senate12-Feb-2008

Proclamation under the Flags Act 1953

I, PHILIP MICHAEL JEFFERY, Governor‑General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council and noting the fact that the flag reproduced in Schedule 1 and described in Schedule 2 is recognised as the flag of the Aboriginal peoples of Australia and a flag of significance to the Australian nation generally, appoint that flag, under section 5 of the Flags Act 1953, to be the flag of the Aboriginal peoples of Australia and to be known as the Australian Aboriginal Flag with effect from 1 January 2008.

Signed and sealed with the
Great Seal of Australia
on 25 January 2008


By His Excellency’s Command


Schedule 1        Australian Aboriginal Flag







Schedule 2        Description of Australian Aboriginal Flag



The Australian Aboriginal Flag is divided horizontally into halves, the upper half being black (symbolising the Aboriginal peoples) and the lower half being red (symbolising both the Australian soil and ochre, a substance used by Aboriginal peoples at their ceremonies).  A yellow disk (symbolising the sun) is superimposed centrally on the black and red halves of the flag.