Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2007 (No. 13)

Authoritative Version
  • - F2007L03752
  • No longer in force
SLI 2007 No. 290 Regulations as made
These Regulations amend the Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2002 to specify the Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) as a terrorist organisation for the purpose of paragraph (b) of the definition of terrorist organisation in section 102.1 of the Criminal Code Act 1995.
Administered by: Attorney-General's
Registered 27 Sep 2007
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR12-Feb-2008
Tabled Senate12-Feb-2008
Date of repeal 09 Apr 2013
Repealed by Attorney-General's (Spent and Redundant Instruments) Repeal Regulation 2013

Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2007 (No. 13)1

Select Legislative Instrument 2007 No. 290

I, PHILIP MICHAEL JEFFERY, Governor‑General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, make the following Regulations under the Criminal Code Act 1995.

Dated 26 September 2007



By His Excellency’s Command


1              Name of Regulations

                These Regulations are the Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2007 (No. 13).

2              Commencement

                These Regulations commence on the day after they are registered.

3              Amendment of Criminal Code Regulations 2002

                Schedule 1 amends the Criminal Code Regulations 2002.

Schedule 1        Amendment

(regulation 3)


[1]           Regulation 4W


4W          Terrorist organisations — Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK)

         (1)   For paragraph (b) of the definition of terrorist organisation in subsection 102.1 (1) of the Code, the organisation known as Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) is specified.

         (2)   For subregulation (1), Kurdistan Workers Party (PKK) is also known by the following names:

                (a)    Freedom and Democratic Congress of Kurdistan;

               (b)    KADEK;

                (c)    Kongra Gel;

               (d)    Kongra Gele Kurdistan;

                (e)    Kurdish Liberation Hawks;

                (f)    Kurdistan Freedom and Democracy Congress;

                (g)    Kurdistan Freedom Brigade;

                (h)    Kurdistan Freedom Falcons;

                 (i)    Kurdistan Halk Kongresi (KHK);

                (j)    Kurdistan Labor Party;

               (k)    Kurdistan Ozgurluk Sahinleri;

                 (l)    Kurdistan Peoples Congress;

               (m)    New PKK;

                (n)    Partiya Karkeren Kurdistan;

               (o)    Peoples Congress of Kurdistan;

               (p)    People’s Defence Force (HPG);

               (q)    Teyrbazên Azadiya Kurdistan (TAK).


1.       All legislative instruments and compilations are registered on the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments kept under the Legislative Instruments Act 2003. See www.frli.gov.au.