Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2007 (No. 2)

Authoritative Version
  • - F2007L00577
  • No longer in force
SLI 2007 No. 39 Regulations as made
These Regulations amend the Criminal Code Regulations 2002 to specify Ansar al-Sunna and its aliases as a terrorist organisation for the purposes of paragraph (b) of the definition of a terrorist organisation in subsection 102.1(1) of the Criminal Code Act 1995.
Administered by: Attorney-General's
Registered 23 Mar 2007
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR26-Mar-2007
Tabled Senate27-Mar-2007
Date of repeal 09 Apr 2013
Repealed by Attorney-General's (Spent and Redundant Instruments) Repeal Regulation 2013

Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2007 (No. 2)1

Select Legislative Instrument 2007 No. 39

I, PHILIP MICHAEL JEFFERY, Governor‑General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, make the following Regulations under the Criminal Code Act 1995.

Dated 22 March 2007



By His Excellency’s Command


1              Name of Regulations

                These Regulations are the Criminal Code Amendment Regulations 2007 (No. 2).

2              Commencement

                These Regulations commence on the day after they are registered.

3              Amendment of Criminal Code Regulations 2002

                Schedule 1 amends the Criminal Code Regulations 2002.

Schedule 1        Amendment

(regulation 3)


[1]           Regulation 4H


4H           Terrorist organisations — Ansar al‑Sunna

         (1)   For paragraph (b) of the definition of terrorist organisation in subsection 102.1 (1) of the Code, the organisation known as Ansar al‑Sunna is specified.

         (2)   For subregulation (1), Ansar al‑Sunna is also known by the following names:

                (a)    Ansar al‑Islam;

               (b)    Ansar al‑Sunna Army;

                (c)    Army of Ansar al‑Sunna;

               (d)    Devotees of Islam;

                (e)    Jaish Ansar al‑Sunna;

                (f)    Jund al‑Islam;

                (g)    Partisans of Islam;

                (h)    Protectors of Islam;

                 (i)    Protectors of the Sunna Faith;

                (j)    Soldiers of Islam;

               (k)    Supporters of Islam.


1.       All legislative instruments and compilations are registered on the Federal Register of Legislative Instruments kept under the Legislative Instruments Act 2003. See www.frli.gov.au.