Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Proclamations/Other as made
This Proclamation declares the outer limit of Australia's contiguous zone.
Administered by: Attorney-General's
Exempt from sunsetting by the Legislation (Exemptions and Other Matters) Regulation 2015 s11 item 01
Registered 17 Apr 2007
Gazetted 07 Apr 1999


I, WILLIAM PATRICK DEANE, Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, make this proclamation under section 13B of the Seas and Submerged Lands Act 1973.

Signed and sealed with the Great Seal of Australia on
31 March 1999


By His Excellency’s Command,

Daryl williams


Do not delete : Part placeholder

Do not delete : Division placeholder

1       Name of this proclamation

                This proclamation is the Seas and Submerged Lands (Limits of Contiguous Zone) Proclamation 1999.

2       Commencement

                This proclamation commences on gazettal.

3       Definition

                In this proclamation:

Treaty means the Treaty between Australia and the Independent State of Papua New Guinea concerning Sovereignty and Maritime Boundaries in the area between the two Countries, including the area known as Torres Strait, and Related Matters, done at Sydney on 18 December 1978.

4       Outer limits of Australia’s contiguous zone

                Subject to section 5, the outer limits of Australia’s contiguous zone are declared to comprise:

                (a)    lines that are 24 nautical miles seaward of the baselines from which the territorial sea is measured, as determined by proclamation under section 7 of the Seas and Submerged Lands Act 1973, for areas of Australia other than its external Territories; and

               (b)    in relation to the external Territories, lines that are 24 nautical miles seaward of the baselines established under international law.

5       Area north of seabed jurisdiction line

                Australia’s contiguous zone does not include any part of the area north of the seabed jurisdiction line set out in Annex 5 of the Treaty that is:

                (a)    east of meridian of Longitude 141° East; and

               (b)    west of meridian of Longitude 145° East.