Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

200500016 Rules/Other as made
These Rules contain certain provisions relating to the membership and meetings of The Australian National University Medical School.
Administered by: DEST
Exempt from sunsetting by the Legislative Instruments Act 2003 s 54(2) item 6
Registered 08 Feb 2005
Date of repeal 05 Aug 2006
Repealed by ANU College Governance Rules 2006






The Council of the Australian National University makes these Rules under section 10 of the Faculties Statute 2002.


Dated: 10 December 2004.





Peter Baume AO



1 Name of Rules

1.1 These are the Faculties (The Australian National University Medical School) Rules 2005.

1.2       These Rules commence on 31 December 2004, immediately after the commencement of the Rules (Repeal) Rules 2004.

2 Definitions

2.1 In these Rules, unless the contrary intention appears:

Board means the Board of The Faculties.

Chair for a Faculty meeting, means the person presiding at the meeting.

Dean means Dean of the Faculty.

Medical School means The Australian National University Medical School.

meeting means a meeting of the Faculty.

the Faculty means the Faculty of The Australian National University Medical School in The Faculties.

the Statute means the Faculties Statute 2002.

3 Faculty of Medicine

3.1 The Faculty includes:

              (a)   the Vice-Chancellor (ex-officio);

              (b)   the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education);

              (c)   the Chairperson of the Board;

              (d)   the Head of each academic unit for the time being assigned to the Faculty;

              (e)   the Dean of the Medical School;

               (f)   an Associate Dean of the Medical School appointed by the Dean;

              (g)   each academic employee and person holding academic status, holding a standard full-time or part-time appointment in the Medical School of indefinite duration or engaged on a fixed-term contract for a period exceeding 1 year;

              (h)   each member of the Medical School Executive Committee;

               (i)   1 postgraduate student in the Faculty elected by the postgraduate students of the Faculty;

               (j)   1 member nominated by the Students’ Association from among the students enrolled in programs for which the Faculty is responsible who has, at the date of the nomination, been re-enrolled as a student at a university for not less than 1 year;

              (k)   each student member of the ACTION Committee of the Faculty having full voting rights at meetings of that committee;

               (l)   1 member each from the Faculties involved in teaching nominated by the Dean of the respective Faculty;

             (m)   1 member from the John Curtin School of Medical Research nominated by the Director of the John Curtin School of Medical Research; and

              (n)   1 member from the National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health nominated by the Director of the National Centre for Epidemiology  and Population Health; and

              (o)   1 member from the Centre for Mental Health Research nominated by the Director of the Centre for Mental Health Research; and

              (p)   1 member from the Research School of Biological Sciences nominated by the Director of the Research School of Biological Sciences;

              (q)   the Executive Officer of the Medical School (ex-officio);

              (r)   2 members of the academic staff of the University of Canberra nominated by the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Canberra;

              (s)   1 member of the general staff of the Faculty nominated by the Dean;

               (t)   2 representatives of the Resident Medical Officer staff of the Canberra Hospital nominated by the Dean;

              (u)   the Associate Dean of the Canberra Clinical School, University of Sydney (ex-officio);

              (v)   such other persons as the Faculty appoints.

3.2 A member of the Faculty referred to in paragraph 3.1 (i), (j) or (v), holds office, subject to subrule 3.3, for a period of 12 months from 1 January immediately following his or her appointment, but is eligible for reappointment or re-election, as the case requires.

3.3 If a vacancy occurs in the office of a member of the Faculty, a member may be elected or appointed to the vacant office in accordance with subrule 3.1 and the member so elected or appointed holds office for the unexpired portion of the term of office of the first-mentioned member.

3.4 The Faculty may co-opt as a member of the Faculty for such period as the Faculty determines a person whose views are, in the opinion of the Faculty, of special value to the Faculty.

3.5 A person so co-opted is not eligible to vote at a meeting of the Faculty and the presence of the person at a meeting of the Faculty must not be counted for the purpose of constituting a quorum at that meeting.

3.6 A member of the Faculty may at any time by notice in writing given to the Dean, resign from membership of the Faculty.

4 Functions of the Faculty

4.1 For subsection 3.4 of the Statute, the functions of the Faculty are to encourage and maintain standards of scholarship, research and teaching, and to maintain standards of examination, in subjects within the scope of the Faculty.

5 Convening of Meetings

5.1 The Dean must convene a meeting at the written request of not less than 10 members of the Faculty.

6 Notice of Meetings

6.1 Not less than 7 days' notice in writing of a meeting must be given to all members of the Faculty.

7 Quorum

7.1 At a meeting, a quorum is 10 members of the Faculty.

8 Voting at Meetings

8.1 At a meeting, each member present has a deliberative vote and, if there is an equality of votes, the member presiding at the meeting also has a casting vote.

9 Quorum must be present

9.1 At a meeting, the business of the Faculty must not begin unless a quorum is present.

9.2 At a meeting, any member may assert that a quorum is not present and, if the Chair, having taken a count, finds a quorum is not present then the proceedings of the meeting must be adjourned until a date to be fixed by the Chair.

10 Faculty meetings

10.1 The Faculty may, by resolution, determine the following matters:

              (a)   subject to rules 5 and 6, the manner and time of convening, holding and adjourning a meeting;

              (b)   the powers and duties of the person presiding at a meeting;

              (c)   the conduct of the business at a meeting;

              (d)   the appointment of subcommittees of the Faculty, and the conduct of subcommittees so appointed.