Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Faculties (Faculty of Law) Rules 2005

Authoritative Version
200500017 Rules/Other as made
These Rules contain certain provisions relating to the membership and meetings of the Faculty of Law.
Administered by: DEST
Exempt from sunsetting by the Legislative Instruments Act 2003 s 54(2) item 6
Registered 17 Mar 2005
Date of repeal 05 Aug 2006
Repealed by ANU College Governance Rules 2006
Table of contents.






The Council of the Australian National University makes these Rules under section 10 of the Faculties Statute 2002.


Dated: 10 December 2004.





Peter Baume AO


Citation and commencement

1 These are the Faculties (Faculty of Law) Rules 2005.

(2) These Rules commence on 31 December 2004, immediately after the commencement of the Rules (Repeal) Rules 2004.


2 In these Rules, unless the contrary intention appears:

Chair for a Faculty meeting, means the person presiding at the meeting.

Dean means Dean of the Faculty.

leave means long service leave, leave without pay or parental leave;

meeting means a meeting of the Faculty.

member means member of the Faculty.

Students' Association means the Australian National University Students' Association.

the Faculty means the Faculty of Law in The Faculties.

the Statute means the Faculties Statute 1999.

Faculty of Law

3 (1) The Faculty includes:

              (a)   for paragraph 3 (1) (c) of the Statute, academic employees holding a standard full-time or part-time appointment in the Faculty of Law of indefinite duration or engaged on a fixed-term contract for a period exceeding 1 year

              (b)   for paragraph 3 (1) (d) of the Statute:

                           (i)   1 graduate student member of the Board of Studies - Graduate Program in Law assigned to the Faculty appointed or elected in accordance with the Rules;

                          (ii)   a member nominated by the Students' Association from among the students enrolled in courses of studies for which the Faculty is responsible who have, at the date of the nomination, been enrolled as a student at a university for not less than 1 year; and

                         (iii)   each student member of the Education Committee of the Faculty having full voting rights at meetings of that committee; and

              (c)   for paragraph 3 (1) (e) of the Statute:

                           (i)   1 member of the general staff of the Faculty appointed or elected in accordance with the Rules;

                          (ii)   the President of the Law Society of the Australian Capital Territory (ex officio);

                         (iii)   a representative of the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department appointed by the Secretary to that Department (ex officio);

                         (iv)   the Head of the Law Program, Research School of Social Sciences (ex officio);

                          (v)   the Librarian in charge of the Law Library; and

                         (vi)   such other persons, not exceeding 8, as the Faculty appoints.

(2) A nominated member of the Faculty referred to in subparagraph (1)(b)(ii), holds office, subject to subrules (4) and (5), for a period of 12 months but is eligible for reappointment.

(3) A member of the Faculty referred to in subparagraph (1)(c)( vi) holds office, subject to subrules (4) and (5), for a period not exceeding 3 years, but is eligible for reappointment.

(4) If a member of the Faculty referred to in paragraph (1)(b)( ii) or  (1)(c)( vi):

              (a)   dies;

              (b)   declines to act;

              (c)   resigns office; or

              (d)   ceases to have the qualification (if any) by virtue of which he or she was appointed;

his or her office becomes vacant.

(5) If a vacancy occurs in the office of a member of the Faculty by virtue of subrule (4), a member may be appointed to the vacant office in accordance with paragraph  (1)(b)( ii), or (1)(c)(vi), as the case requires, and the member so appointed holds office, subject to subrule (4), for the unexpired portion of the term of office of the firstmentioned member.

Functions of the Faculty

4 For subsection 3 (5) of the Statute, the functions of the faculty are to encourage and maintain standards of scholarship, research and teaching, and to maintain standards of examination, in subjects within the scope of the faculty.

Powers of the Faculty

5 For subsection 3 (5) of the Statute, the Faculty may:

              (a)   enrol students in the faculty; and

              (b)   exempt students in the faculty from attendance at lectures, classes and practical work; and

              (c)   exempt students in the faculty from part of a course of study.

Convening of Meetings

6 The Dean must convene a meeting at the written request of not less than 20% of the total number of members.

Notice of Meetings

8 (1) Not less than 7 days' notice in writing of a meeting must be given to all members other than members on leave.


9 At a meeting, a quorum is 15 members.

Voting at Meetings

10 (1) At a meeting of the Faculty, each member present has a deliberative vote and, if there is an equality of votes, the member presiding at the meeting also has a casting vote.

(2) A member who is on leave must not vote at a meeting of Faculty.

Quorum must be present

11 (1) At a meeting, the business of the Faculty must not begin unless a quorum of the Faculty is present.

(2) At a meeting, any member may assert that a quorum of members is not present and, if the Chair, having taken a count, finds a quorum is not present then the proceedings of the meeting must be adjourned until a date to be fixed by the Chair.