Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Convocation Rules 2005

Authoritative Version
200500032 Rules/Other as made
The Rules list persons who are members of Convocation under ss4(2) of the Convocation Statute.
Administered by: Education, Skills and Employment
Exempt from sunsetting by the Legislation (Exemptions and Other Matters) Regulation 2015 s12 item 09
Registered 04 Feb 2005




The Council of the Australian National University makes these Rules under section 8 of the Convocation Statute.


Dated: 10 December 2004.





Peter Baume AO




Name of Rules and commencement

1(1)     These Rules are the Convocation Rules 2005.

(2)       These Rules commence on 31 December 2004, immediately after the commencement of the Rules (Repeal) Rules 2004.


2. In these Rules, unless the contrary intention appears:

Statute means the Convocation Statute.

Membership of Convocation

3. For the purposes of subsection 4 (2) of the Statute, each of the following persons, being a person who is not otherwise entitled to be a member of Convocation under paragraph 30 (1) (a), (b), (c) or (d) of the Act, is a member of Convocation:

              (a)   a person who was a member of Convocation immediately before the commencement of these Rules;

              (b)   a full-time or fractional member of the academic staff of the University;

              (c)   a person who holds an honorary or visiting appointment at or above the level of post doctoral fellow or associate lecturer, for a period of not less than 2 years;

              (d)   the Master and each Fellow of University House;

              (e)   a person who holds office in the University as Pro-Chancellor, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Administration), Pro-Vice Chancellor (Academic), the Librarian or Director, Information Technology Services;

               (f)   the holder of any other office that the Council declares to be a senior office for the purpose of these Rules;

              (g)   the head of each University Hall;

              (h)   the head of each non-academic unit and centre within the University;

               (i)   the head of each residential college affiliated with the University under the Residential Colleges (Affiliation) Statute;

               (j)   each graduate of the University of Melbourne of 3 years' standing:

                           (i)   who pursued, at or through the Canberra University College, at least 1 year of the course for the degree in which he or she graduated; and

                          (ii)   who applies for membership of Convocation;

              (k)   each full-time member of the general staff of the University:

                           (i)   who is a graduate of an institution that is now a university, other than the University; and

                          (ii)   who has held an office in, or been employed by, the University for not less than 3 years (whether continuously or not).