Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

National Health Regulations (Amendment)

Authoritative Version
  • - F1996B03198
  • No longer in force
SR 1979 No. 107 Regulations as made
These Regulations amend the National Health Regulations.
Administered by: Health
General Comments: This instrument was backcaptured in accordance with Section 36 of the Legislative Instruments Act 2003
Registered 01 Jan 2005
Tabling HistoryDate
Tabled HR21-Aug-1979
Tabled Senate21-Aug-1979
Gazetted 29 Jun 1979
Date of repeal 19 Mar 2014
Repealed by Health (Spent and Redundant Instruments) Repeal Regulation 2014

Statutory Rules

1979 No. 107


I, THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, hereby make the following Regulations under the National Health Act 1953.

          Dated this twenty-eighty day of June 1979.

                                                                                                                           ZELMAN COWEN


          By His Excellency’s Command,




Minister of State for Health



1              Commencement

                These Regulations shall be deemed to have come into operation on 14 June 1979.

2              After regulation 5 of the National Health Regulations the following regulation is inserted:

                Prescribed islands for the purposes of sub-section 13 (2A) of the Act

      “5A.   For the purposes of sub-section 13 (2A) of the Act, each of the following islands is a prescribed island:

                (a)    Bathurst Island, Northern Territory;

               (b)    Elcho Island, Northern Territory;

                (c)    each island in the group of islands known as the Furneaux Group, Tasmania;

               (d)    Groote Eylandt, Northern Territory;

                (e)    Kangaroo Island, South Australia;

                (f)    King Island, Tasmania;

               (g)    Melville Island, Northern Territory;

               (h)    Three Hummock Island, Tasmania.”.

3              Schedule 3

                Schedule 3 to the National Health Regulations is repealed and the following Schedule substituted:

                                           SCHEDULE 3                               Regulation 5


Municipality of Ashfield

Municipality of Leichhardt

Municipality of Auburn

City of Liverpool

Municipality of Bankstown

Municipality of Manly

Shire of Baulkham Hills

Municipality of Marrickville

Municipality of Blacktown

Municipality of Mosman

Municipality of Botany

Municipality of North Sydney

Municipality of Burwood

City of Parramatta

Municipality of Camden

City of Penrith

City of Campbelltown

Municipality of Randwick

Municipality of Canterbury

Municipality of Rockdale

Municipality of Concord

Municipality of Ryde

Municipality of Drummoyne

Municipality of South Sydney

Municipality of Fairfield

Municipality of Strathfield

Shire of Hornsby

Shire of Sutherland

Municipality of Holroyd

City of Sydney

Municipality of Hunters Hill

Shire of Warringah

Municipality of Hurstville

Municipality of Waverley

Municipality of Kogarah

Municipality of Willoughby

Municipality of Ku-ring-gai

Municipality of Windsor

Municipality of Lane Cove

Municipality of Woollahra


City of Altona

City of Kew

City of Berwick

City of Knox

City of Box Hill

City of Malvern

City of Brighton

City of Melbourne

City of Broadmeadows

Shire of Melton

City of Brunswick

City of Moorabbin

Shire of Bulla

City of Mordialloc

City of Camberwell

City of Northcote

City of Caulfield

City of Nunawading

City of Chelsea

City of Oakleigh

City of Coburg

City of Port Melbourne

City of Collingwood

City of Prahran

City of Croydon

City of Preston

City of Dandenong

City of Richmond

Shire of Diamond Valley

City of Ringwood

City of Doncaster and Templestowe

City of St Kilda

Shire of Eltham

City of Sandringham

City of Essendon

City of South Melbourne

City of Fitzroy

City of Springvale

City of Footscray

City of Sunshine

City of Frankston

City of Waverley

City of Hawthorn

Shire of Werribee

City of Heidelberg

Shire of Whittlesea

City of Keilor

City of Williamstown


City of Brisbane



City of Adelaide

District of Munno Para

City of Brighton

City of Noarlunga

City of Burnside

City of Payneham

City of Campbelltown

City of Port Adelaide

District of East Torrens

City of Prospect

City of Elizabeth

Town of St Peters

City of Enfield

City of Salisbury

Town of Gawler

District of Stirling

City of Glenelg

City of Tea Tree Gully

City of Henley and Grange

Town of Thebarton

Town of Hindmarsh

City of Unley

City of Kensington and Norwood

Town of Walkerville

City of Marion

City of West Torrens

District of Meadows

District of Willunga

City of Mitcham

City of Woodville


Shire of Armadale-Kelmscott

City of Melville

Town of Bassendean

Town of Mosman Park

Shire of Bayswater

Shire of Mundaring

Shire of Belmont

City of Nedlands

Town of Canning

Shire of Peppermint Grove

Town of Claremont

City of Perth

Town of Cockburn

Shire of Rockingham

Town of Cottesloe

Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale

Town of East Fremantle

City of South Perth

City of Fremantle

City of Stirling

Town of Gosnells

City of Subiaco

Shire of Kalamunda

Shire of Swan

Shire of Kwinana

Shire of Wanneroo



1.       Notified in the Commonwealth of Australia Gazette on 29 June 1979.

2.       Statutory Rules 1954 No. 35 as amended to date. For previous amendments see Note 2 to Statutory Rules 1979 No. 59 and see also Statutory Rules 1979 No. 59.