Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content


This gazette
Administered by: Home Affairs
Published Date 07 May 2020

Title: Australian Government Department of Home Affairs Logo



Aviation Transport Security Regulations 2005





I, MICK GRAY, Acting Director, Transport Security Operations, Aviation and Maritime Security Division, an authorised Delegate of the Secretary of the Department of Home Affairs, under section 127 of the Aviation Transport Security Act 2004, make this notice under subregulation 3.08(3) of the Aviation Transport Security Regulations 2005.


I, GIVE employees and contractors of John Holland Group Pty Ltd, when carrying out construction activities for a new culvert crossing for Aviation Rescue & Fire Fighting Services (ARFFS) Emergency Road, an exemption from displaying an Aviation Security Identification Card (ASIC) in the secure area of Sunshine Coast Airport, when under escort in the airside area moving between Gate 21 and the airside special event zone (the Zone) established in notice NTC-18657.


This notice is issued on condition that:


1.     movement of construction personnel between Gate 21 and the Zone is to occur under vehicular or person escort by:

a.     an employee of Sunshine Coast Airport Pty Ltd; or

b.    a contracted airport security guard of Sunshine Coast Airport Pty Ltd; or

c.     an employee of John Holland Group Pty Ltd that validly displays an ASIC; and


2.     vehicles requiring access to the Zone from Gate 21 will be subject to an inspection by the airport contracted security guard or airport Works Safety Officer; and


3.     access to airside from Gate 21, for the purposes of accessing the Zone, is to be permitted only  once the contracted airport security guard or Works Safety Officer is satisfied the person is:

a.     an employee or contractor of John Holland Group Pty Ltd and reconciled against the approved John Holland Group Pty Ltd contractor list; or

b.    an authorised person to be in the Zone such staff of Sunshine Coast Airport Pty Ltd.


This exemption is in force from 6 am, 05 May 2020 to 6 pm 30 December 2020.


Date:   5 May 2020





Mick Gray

Delegate of the Secretary

Aviation and Maritime Security Division

Department of Home Affairs