Federal Register of Legislation - Australian Government

Primary content

Wireless Telegraphy Regulations (Amendment)

Authoritative Version
  • - C1935L00120
  • No longer in force
SR 1935 No. 120 Regulations as made
These Regulations amend the Wireless Telegraphy Regulations.
Gazetted 28 Nov 1935
Date of repeal 06 Aug 1942
Repealed by Wireless Telegraphy Regulations


1935. No. 120.



I, THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL in and over the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council, hereby make the following Regulation under the Wireless Telegraphy Act 1905-1919.

Dated this twenty-seventh day of November, 1935.



By His Excellency's Command,




Amendment of the Wireless Telegraphy Regulations.

Regulation 48a of the Wireless Telegraphy Regulations is repealed, and the following regulation inserted in its stead.—

Limitation of broadcasting stations owned or controlled by one person.

48a—(1.)  Any person making application for the grant or renewal of a Broadcasting Station Licence shall supply such information as is required by the Postmaster-General and shall lodge with the application a Statutory Declaration that the grant or renewal of the licence will not result in the ownership by any person of more than—

(a) one metropolitan broadcasting station in any State;

(b) four metropolitan broadcasting stations in the Commonwealth.

(c) four broadcasting stations in any one State; or

(d) eight broadcasting stations in the Commonwealth,

and will not result in any person being in a position to exercise control, either directly or indirectly, of more than that number of stations.

(2.) Where the applicant is a company, the Statutory Declaration referred to in the last preceding sub-regulation shall be made by a majority of the directors of the company and the manager or secretary of the company.

(3.) Where the applicant is neither an individual or a company, the Statutory Declaration referred to in sub-regulation (1.) of this regulation shall be made by such persons as the Postmaster-General determines.

(4.) In this regulation—

‘metropolitan broadcasting station’ means a broadcasting station situated within a radius of 30 miles from the General Post Office in the capital city of a State;

‘person’ includes a firm, body corporate or association.”


* Notified in the Commonwealth Gazette on 28th November, 1935.

† Statutory Rules 1924. No. 101, as amended by Statutory Rules 1925, No. 123; 1920, No. 114: 1927. Nos. 3, 24 and 63; 1928, Nos. 79 and 120; 1929, No. 81; 1930, No. 113; 1933, No. 130; 1934, No. 99 and 1935. No. 164.


By Authority: L. F. Johnston, Commonwealth Government Printer, Canberra.

5619.—Price 3d.