





HEAVY VEHICLE NATIONAL LAW

New South Wales Class 3 Cotton Module Chain Bed Semitrailer Combination Dimension Exemption Notice 2023 (No.1)

1. Purpose

- 1) This notice grants exemptions from height and rear overhang dimension requirements for a class 3 heavy vehicle that is transporting cotton modules on a chain bed semitrailer.
- 2) This notice revokes and replaces the *New South Wales Class 3 Cotton Module Chain Bed Semitrailer Combination Dimension Exemption Notice 2019 (No.1).*

2. Authorising provision

- 1) This notice is made under the following provision of the Heavy Vehicle National Law (HVNL):
 - a) section 117 Regulator's power to exempt category of class 1 or 3 heavy vehicles from compliance with mass or dimension requirement.
 - b) section 23 of Schedule 1 *Regulator's power to amend or repeal instrument*.

3. Title

This notice may be cited as the *New South Wales Class 3 Cotton Module Chain Bed Semitrailer Combination Dimension Exemption Notice 2023 (No.1).*

4. Commencement date

This notice commences on 22 September 2023.

5. Expiry date

This notice expires on 21 September 2028.

6. Definitions

- 1) Unless otherwise stated, words and expressions used in this notice have the same meanings as those in the HVNL and its regulations.
- 2) In this notice:

Chain bed semitrailer means a semitrailer with a chain bed specifically constructed to transport cotton modules.

7. Application

- 1) This notice applies to a class 3 heavy combination consisting of a prime mover towing a chain bed semitrailer.
- 2) This notice applies in New South Wales.
- 3) A heavy vehicle to which this section applies and that complies with the conditions of this notice is an eligible vehicle.

8. Exemption – Prescribed dimension requirements

- 1) An eligible vehicle is exempt from the following dimension requirements under Schedule 6 of the *Heavy Vehicle (Mass, Dimension and Loading) National Regulation* (MDL Regulation):
 - a) section 5 Length (rear overhang)
 - b) section 8 Height
- 2) An exemption in 1) only applies to the extent that specific conditional dimension limits are provided in section 9 of this notice.

9. Condition – Dimension limits

1) For a parameter given in column 1 of Table 1, an eligible vehicle must not exceed the dimension given in column 2.

Table 1: Maximum dimensions

Column 1	Column 2
Parameter	Maximum Dimension (m)
Length (rear overhang)	4.2
Height	4.6

10. Condition - Application of Schedule 8 of the MDL Regulation

- 1) An eligible vehicle must comply with the following section of Schedule 8 of the MDL Regulation as though it were a class 1 vehicle:
 - a) section 11 Assessing routes

11. Condition – stated areas or routes

- 1) An eligible vehicle complying with the conditions of this notice is authorised to access all roads in a participating local government area listed in the stated routes and areas section of Appendix 1.
- 2) For the purposes of section 119(1)(a) of the HVNL, an area or route specified in a schedule is a stated area or route to which this notice applies.
- 3) An eligible vehicle operating on an area or route specified in this section must comply with the following conditions as specified for that route or area:
 - a) Road conditions pursuant to section 160 of the HVNL; and
 - b) Travel conditions pursuant to section 161 of the HVNL; and
 - c) Vehicle conditions pursuant to section 162 of the HVNL.

David Hourigan Chief of Safety and Productivity National Heavy Vehicle Regulator

Appendix 1 List of Participating Local Government Areas

For the purposes of section 11, the list of participating local government areas is:

- 1. Bourke Shire Council
- 2. Brewarrina Shire Council
- 3. Walgett Shire Council
- 4. Moree Plains Shire Council
- 5. Gwydir Shire Council
- 6. Broken Hill City Council and Un-incorporated Far West area south of Broughman's Gate Avenel, Lynray, Fowlers Gap and Gnalta
- 7. Central Darling Shire Council
- 8. Cobar Shire Council
- 9. Bogan Shire Council
- 10. Warren Shire Council
- 11. Coonamble Shire Council
- 12. Narrabri Shire Council
- 13. Gilgandra Shire Council
- 14. Warrumbungle Shire Council
- 15. Gunnedah Shire Council
- 16. Liverpool Plains Shire Council
- 17. Tamworth Regional Shire Council
- 18. Narromine Shire Council
- 19. Dubbo City Council
- 20. Lachlan Shire Council
- 21. Parkes Shire Council
- 22. Wentworth Shire Council
- 23. Balranald Shire Council
- 24. Hay Shire Council
- 25. Carrathool Shire Council
- 26. Griffith City Council
- 27. Bland Shire Council
- 28. Forbes Shire Council