ABolition and renaming of Departments of State

The Prime Minister gives notice that on 5 December 2019, the Governor-General in Council, acting on the Prime Minister’s recommendation under section 64 of the Constitution, abolished the following Departments of State:

Department of Agriculture

Department of Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business

Department of Communications and the Arts

Services Australia


to take effect on and from 1 February 2020;

and changed the names of the Departments of State specified in Column 1 to the names specified in Column 2 opposite the first-mentioned name:


Column 1

Column 2

Department of the Environment and Energy

Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment


Department of Education

Department of Education, Skills and Employment

Department of Industry, Innovation and Science

Department of Industry, Science, Energy and Resources

Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Cities and Regional Development

Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications


to take effect on and from 1 February 2020.