Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999





I, Melissa Price, Minister for the Environment, having considered in relation to the place and the National Heritage values described in the Schedule of this instrument:


(a)  the Australian Heritage Council's assessment whether the place meets any of the National Heritage criteria; and


(b)  the comments given to the Council under sections 324JG and 324JH of the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999; and


being satisfied that the place described in the Schedule has the National Heritage values specified in the Schedule, pursuant to section 324JJ of the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999, include the place and the specified National Heritage values in the National Heritage List.




Dated   28/9/2018




Melissa Price

Minister for the Environment







NAME:  Centennial Park



Approximately 189ha, between Oxford Street and Alison Road, Centennial Park, being the area comprising the whole of New South Wales Land Parcel Lot 1723 DP45644.




























The place has outstanding heritage value to the nation because of the place's importance in the course, or pattern, of Australia's natural or cultural history.












Centennial Park has outstanding heritage value to the nation as the site of the official ceremony that inaugurated the Commonwealth of Australia, on 1 January 1901.

This event held at Centennial Park was a defining moment in Australia’s progress to a unified Commonwealth – the six colonies of South Australia, Western Australia, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania and Queensland were united as the Commonwealth of Australia.

At the inauguration ceremony, Queen Victoria’s Royal Proclamation and Letters Patent were read. The Royal Proclamation established that the Commonwealth of Australia and the Australian Constitution took effect from this day, 1 January 1901. The Letters Patent established the Office of Governor-General and Lord Hopetoun’s Commission.

Lord Hopetoun was sworn in as the first Governor-General of Australia after taking and signing three oaths, the Oath of Allegiance, the Official Oath and the Judicial Oath. The Federal Executive Councillors were then sworn in, each taking and signing two oaths, the Oath of Allegiance and the Executive Councillor’s Oath. Edmund Barton was sworn-in as the nation's first Prime Minister, along with the first federal cabinet.

These actions marked the creation of a new democracy. From this moment, on 1 January 1901, the Commonwealth of Australia became a self-governing nation.