





# Notices in relation to the 2016 Torres Strait Regional Authority election

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

1. Notice under subsection 142Y(2) fixing the day of the election.

2. Notice under paragraph 143(2)(b) setting out the number of persons who will be entitled to vote and the number of persons living in the Torres Strait area who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons.

3. Notice under paragraph 143(2)(c) setting out the number of persons who will be entitled to vote in a specified Ward and the number of persons living in the specified Wards who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons.

4. Notice under section 142Z by the Electoral Commissioner appointing the polling places for the Wards specified.

#### Commonwealth of Australia

### Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

## Notice under subsection 142Y(2) of the polling day for the Torres Strait Regional Authority election

I, Nigel Scullion, Minister for Indigenous Affairs, acting in accordance with subsection 142Y(2) of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005,* fix Saturday 30 July 2016 as the day for the polling in the Torres Strait Regional Authority election.

Signed on 21st April 2016

**Nigel Scullion** 

Minister for Indigenous Affairs

#### Commonwealth of Australia

#### Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

### Notice under paragraph 143(2)(b)

I, Nigel Scullion, Minister for Indigenous Affairs acting in accordance with paragraph 143(2)(b) of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005,* estimate that, in relation to the Torres Strait area:

- (i) The number of persons who will be entitled to vote at the forthcoming Torres Strait Regional Authority election is **3,703** and
- (ii) The number of persons living in that area who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons is **8,104**.

Signed on 21st April 2016

**Nigel Scullion** 

Minister for Indigenous Affairs

#### Commonwealth of Australia

#### Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

### Notice under paragraph 143(2)(c)

I, Nigel Scullion, Minister for Indigenous Affairs, acting in accordance with paragraph 143(2)(c) of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005,* estimate that, in relation to each ward of the Torres Strait area identified in the following table:

- (i) The number of persons who will be entitled to vote at the forthcoming election for that ward is the number appearing in column (i); and
- (ii) The number of persons living in that ward who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons in the number appearing in column (ii).

Signed on 21st April 2016

**Nigel Scullion** 

Minister for Indigenous Affairs

	<b>Column (i)</b> Number of persons entitled to vote at the forthcoming election	<b>Column (ii)</b> Number of persons living in ward who are Torres Strait Islanders or Aboriginal persons
Badu Island ward	347	780
Bamaga ward	448	947
Boigu Island ward	125	210
Dauan Island ward	71	142
Erub Island ward	166	384
Hammond Island ward	130	236
lama Island ward	190	335
Kubin ward	85	175
Mabuiag Island ward	110	274
Masig Island ward	137	259
Mer Island ward	226	385
Ngurapai and Muralag ward	157	460
Port Kennedy ward	447	1108
Poruma Island ward	104	164
Saibai Island ward	138	401
Seisia ward	86	155
St Pauls ward	142	267
TRAWQ ward	422	1109
Ugar Island ward	47	54
Warraber Island ward	125	259

#### AUSTRALIAN ELECTORAL COMMISSION Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

#### APPOINTMENT OF POLLING PLACES

I, Tom Rogers, Electoral Commissioner, under section142Z of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005, appoint the polling places named in Column 2 of the Schedule,* to be polling places for the Wards specified In Column 1.

Tom Rogers Electoral Commissioner

Date: 11/4/16

#### SCHEDULE

	Column 1	Column 2
	Ward	Polling Place
<u>.</u>		
	Demose	Demose
	Bamaga	Bamaga
	Port Kennedy	Port Kennedy
	Ngurapai and Muralag	Horn Island
	TRAWQ	TRAWQ