

COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA

ELIZABETH THE SECOND, by the Grace of God Queen of Australia and Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth:

TO ALL to whom these Presents shall come.

GREETING:

WHEREAS, by Letters Patent dated 14 February 1975, We instituted certain Australian decorations for the purpose of according recognition to persons who perform acts of bravery:

AND WHEREAS, by those Letters Patent, We ordained that the award of the decorations be governed by the Regulations Governing the Award of the Australian Bravery Decorations set out in the Schedule to the Letters Patent:

AND WHEREAS it is desirable that certain amendments of the Regulations be made:

KNOW YOU that We do, by these Presents, declare Our pleasure that the Letters Patent dated 14 February 1975, as amended by Letters Patent dated 17 November 1987 and Letters Patent dated 5 March 1990, be further amended, but without prejudice to anything lawfully done thereunder, as set out in the Schedule.

IN WITNESS whereof We have caused these Our Letters to be made Patent.

GIVEN under the Great Seal of Australia at Our Court at St James's on 5 March 1998



By Her Majesty's Command, JOHN HOWARD Prime Minister

Schedule

Amendments of the Regulations Governing the Award of Australian Bravery Decorations

- 1. Regulation 7 (Australian Decorations Advisory Committee)
- 1.1 Paragraphs 7 (1) (b) and (c):

Omit the paragraphs, substitute:

- "(b) the person for the time being occupying, or performing the duties of, the office prescribed for the purposes of this paragraph by the Minister responsible for the administration of the Australian honours system or by any Minister or member of the Executive Council acting for or on behalf of that Minister; and
- (c) 10 persons appointed by the Governor-General, of whom:
 - (i) one shall be nominated by the State of New South Wales; and
 - (ii) one shall be nominated by the State of Victoria; and
 - (iii) one shall be nominated by the State of Queensland; and
 - (iv) one shall be nominated by the State of Western Australia; and
 - (v) one shall be nominated by the State of South Australia; and
 - (vi) one shall be nominated by the State of Tasmania; and
 - (vii) one shall be nominated by the Northern Territory of Australia; and
 - (viii) one shall be nominated by the Australian Capital Territory.".
- 1.2 Subregulation 7 (4):

Omit "by the States", substitute "by the States or Territories".