Pipeline Construction (Young to Wagga Wagga) Act 1980

No. 8 of 1980

An Act to authorize the construction by the Pipeline Authority of a pipeline from Young to Cootamundra and Wagga Wagga in New South Wales

[Assented to 28 March 1980]

BE IT ENACTED by the Queen, and the Senate and House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Australia, as follows:

Short title, &c.

1. This Act may be cited as the Pipeline Construction (Young to Wagga Wagga) Act 1980.

Commencement

2. This Act shall come into operation on the day on which it receives the Royal Assent.

Authority to construct pipeline

- 3. (1) The Pipeline Authority shall construct a pipeline from Young to Cootamundra and Wagga Wagga in the State of New South Wales consisting of a 324 millimetre diameter pipeline on the route described in Schedule 1 and an 89 millimetre diameter pipeline on the route described in Schedule 2.
- (2) The Pipeline Authority may make such deviations, not exceeding 1,000 metres on either side of the routes described in the Schedules, as are, in its opinion, necessary or reasonable for the better construction and working of the pipeline.
- (3) In this section, "pipeline" has the same meaning as in the *Pipeline Authority Act* 1973.

Estimated cost

4. The estimated cost of constructing the pipeline referred to in subsection 3 (1) is \$17,600,000.

SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 1

Section 3 (1)

DESCRIPTION OF THE ROUTE OF THE 324 MILLIMETRE DIAMETER PIPELINE FROM YOUNG TO WAGGA WAGGA

Commencing at a take-off point on the Moomba to Sydney natural gas pipeline situated within the grounds of the Pipeline Authority's Control Centre near Young, N.S.W., 1034 km from Moomba, thence in a southerly direction for a distance of 0.3 km through the Pipeline Authority's Control Centre grounds, thence on a bearing of 248° for a distance of 4.1 km, thence on a bearing of 267° for a distance of 2.0 km to a point on the Henry Lawson Way about 0.6 km from Maimuru Railway Siding, from this point proceeding on a bearing of 220° for a distance of about 4.8 km, thence on a bearing of 190° for a distance of 2.9 km to a point on the Young-Temora Road about 0.7 km west of the Toompang Racecourse, thence continuing on a bearing of 190° for a distance of about 3 km, thence on a bearing of 222° for a distance of about 2 km, thence on a bearing of 190° for about 3.2 km to a point about 0.5 km from the Baxter-Berthong parish boundary near the North Tumbleton woolshed, thence on a bearing of 210° for a distance of 4.3 km, thence on a bearing of 194° for a distance of 3.1 km to a point on the Wombad-Fontenoy Road about 0.7 km east of Warrenoy Homestead, thence on a bearing of 200° for a distance of 4.7 km to a point on the road 0.15 km south of the Jindalee-Harden Shire boundary, thence on a bearing of 210° for a distance of 5.8 km to a point on the Wallendbeen-Temora Road about 4.3 km west of Wallendbeen, thence on a bearing of 227° for a distance of 15.1 km to a point adjacent to the intersection of the Stockinbingal and Old Temora Roads, thence on a bearing of 225° for 11.1 km to a point about 0.1 km west of the Frampton Railway deviation on the Main Southern Railway, thence on a bearing of 205° for a distance of 6.9 km to a point on the Cootamundra-Illabo Shire boundary about 0.6 km west of the Main Southern Railway, thence on a bearing of 225° for a distance of 2.0 km to a point 0.2 km west of the Main Southern Railway, thence on a bearing of 245° for 3.5 km to a point on the Old Junee Road 0.9 km south-west of Bethungra, thence on a bearing of 225° for a distance of 2.7 km to a point adjacent to Railway Kilometre Post 460 on the Main Southern Railway, thence on a bearing of 160° for a distance of about 0.2 km to cross the Main Southern Railway and the Olympic Way 3.6 km south-west of Bethungra, thence on a bearing of 230° for a distance of 5.1 km to cross the Billabung Creek about 1 km from the Main Southern Railway, thence on a bearing of 230° for a distance of about 5.6 km to a point on the Illabo-Wantabadgery Road 2.5 km south of Illabo, thence a further 3.8 km on a bearing of 230° to a point on the Junee Reefs-Wantabadgery Road 3.8 km south-east of the Main Southern Railway, thence continuing on the same bearing to a point about 0.37 km south of the Boree-Wantiool parish boundary, thence on a bearing of 235° for a distance of 3.6 km to a point on the Junee-Gundagai Road at about 6 km south-east of Junee, thence on a bearing of 225° for a distance of 12.4 km to a point on the Illabo-Mitchell Shire boundary 0.5 km west of Pattersons Road, thence on a bearing of 230° for a distance of 8.1 km to a point 0.1 km south-east of Weeroona Homestead, thence on a bearing of 235° for a distance of 7.7 km to a point on the Wagga Wagga City boundary about 0.6 km north of Bomen Railway Station, thence generally parallel to the existing Shire Road on a bearing of 200° for a distance of 1.2 km to the Wagga Wagga custody transfer station site opposite the Wagga Wagga City Council Abattoir Complex.

SCHEDULE 2

Section 3 (1)

DESCRIPTION OF THE ROUTE OF THE 89 MILLIMETRE DIAMETER PIPELINE CONNECTING TO COOTAMUNDRA

Commencing at a take-off point on the Young to Wagga Wagga natural gas pipeline situated adjacent to the intersection of the Stockinbingal and Old Temora Roads approximately 54 km from the Pipeline Authority's Control Centre near Young, thence on a bearing of 151° for a distance of 1.8 km, thence on a bearing of 165° for a distance of 1 km to the proposed Cootamundra custody transfer station site, situated opposite the junction of Boundary Road and Adam Street West, Cootamundra.