Parliamentary Allowances

No. 22 of 1970

An Act to amend the Parliamentary Allowances Act 1952–1968.

[Assented to 17 June 1970]

 \mathbf{B}^{E} it enacted by the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, the Senate, and the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Australia, as follows:—

Short title and citation. 1.—(1.) This Act may be cited as the *Parliamentary Allowances* Act 1970.

(2.) The Parliamentary Allowances Act 1952-1968* is in this Act referred to as the Principal Act.

(3.) The Principal Act, as amended by this Act, may be cited as the *Parliamentary Allowances Act* 1952–1970.

Commencement.

Interpretation.

2. This Act shall come into operation on the day on which it receives the Royal Assent.

3. After section 3 of the Principal Act the following section is inserted:—

"3A. For the purposes of this Act, the day of the election or reelection of a Senator or a member of the House of Representatives shall be deemed to be—

- (a) where he was elected or re-elected, as the case may be, as the result of a polling—the day fixed for that polling; or
- (b) in any other case—the day on which he was declared duly elected.".

Allowances to Senators,

- 4. Section 4 of the Principal Act is amended—
- (a) by omitting from sub-section (2.) the words "Two thousand six hundred and fifty dollars" and inserting in their stead the words "Two thousand seven hundred and fifty dollars"; and
- (b) by omitting from sub-section (4.) the words "day of that election" and inserting in their stead the words "day fixed for the polling at that election".

5. Section 5 of the Principal Act is amended by omitting from subsection (5.) the words "or of the election of his successor, as the case may be" and inserting in their stead the words "or, if he is not re-elected, the day next before the day fixed for the polling at that general election ".

Allowances to members of House of Representatives.

^{*} Act No. 2, 1952, as amended by No 29, 1956; No. 19 1959; No. 70, 1964; No. 93, 1966; and No. 101, 1968

6. The Second Schedule to the Principal Act is repealed and the second following Schedule inserted in its stead:—

SECOND SCHEDULE

Section 5 (2.).

New South Wales	Victoria	Queensland	South Australia	Western Australia	Tasmania
Banks	Balaclava	Bowman	Adelaide	Curtin	Denison
Barton	Batman	Brisbane	Bonython	Fremantle	1
Bennelong	Bruce	Griffith	Boothby	Perth	
Berowra	Casey	Lilley	Hawker	Stirling	
Blaxland	Chisholm	Moreton	Hindmarsh	Swan	
Bradfield	Corio	Oxley	Kingston		
Chifley	Deakin	Petrie	Port Adelaide		
Cook	Diamond Valley	Ryan	Sturt		1
Cunningham	Gellibrand	•		•	1
Evans	Henty				
Grayndler	Higgins				1
Hughes	Holt				
Kingsford-Smith	Hotham			1	
Lang	Isaacs				i
Lowe	Kooyong				
Mackellar	Lalor				
Newcastle	Maribyrnong				1
North Sydney	Melbourne				
Parramatta	Melbourne Ports				
Phillip	Scullin				
Prospect	Wills				
Reid					
Shortland					
St. George					
Sydney					
Warringah					
Wentworth			!		
Werriwa					

ELECTORAL DIVISIONS